YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i am new to Scuba with my open water booked for later this month. I am looking at kit and have see single, double and triple SPG's for sale on sites such as ebay and was wondering, can any SPG connect to any first stage?
Thanks
Joh

·
Sorry for being a dick
1,757 Posts
Yes, any SPG will work with any first stage, the first stage fitting is a standard size. The hoses can be slightly different though so try to buy the SPG and hose together (It's not actually the hose but the swivel fitting at the end).

·
Sorry for being a dick
1,757 Posts
The double or triple consoles you see may appear ot be a good idea at first but do yourself a favour and go with just a basic single gauge SPG on the hose and then have your other instruments like computer, compass on your wrist. You'll thank me.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks again, there is so many types, makes and different flavours of kit out there its good to get advice from people like yourselvez who have the experience.
Was looking at dive computers but again so many types and makes, some that do only air, others that only nitrox, but was looking at ones that do both, that would then do if carry on to enriched air, deep water courses, what are the recommended computers to look at.
And what are good makes of kit out there as thought Mares were a good make but looking at some regulator kits on places such as ebay and nobody seems to be buying them, with Scubapro and Apeks seeming to be the popular ones people are buying.
As already mentioned am new to this so any advice is greatly appreciated.

·
Sorry for being a dick
1,757 Posts