YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My partner/buddy needs new fins and he's looking at Split Fins. We mostly dive in the UK, both sea and fresh water.
Any good?
Which one's do you recommend?
Which one's do you suggest I stay away from?
Budget of up to £100.

·
The worlds slowest sailor.
2,970 Posts
stay away from the ones that have a split down the middle.

·
Registered
455 Posts
I've been using Scubapro twin jets for over ten years still in good nick and still available.
Not sure on current price though.

·
Registered
3,029 Posts
yes i did find they sucked miserably when finning. and i dive in some serious currents where finning is a no go and even wreck diving they didnt propellel me around well

i did find them good for very fine movements but i have gone for IST F1s really good power, comfy, not so long they catch on stuff, not so short they dont propell you, makes backfinning possible,

if your are interested in them i have some tusa split fins sat gathering dust. save spending new prices make me an offer

·
Conscientious Objector
1,269 Posts
It's a bight. Split fins = strokery...

personally, I don't get on with them. If you have half decent technique, they'll merely slow you down. If you need spilt fins and you don't have a disability, you need some technique lessons, not split fins.

I have no DIR axe to grind here, but the only person who I have ever dived with who uses split fins (or in fact force fins) and is any good at diving uses them because he has no feeling below the knee in either leg and has no articulation in either ankle.

If that fit's you, knock yourself out with split fins.

But what do I know? If you think you want some, try some before you buy and don't get lumbered with expensive tat.

·
The worlds slowest sailor.
2,970 Posts
Thanks Mala,
Are there other types of split fins?
Why do you suggest staying away?

ok -more seriously...