YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Hi Guys,

I dive with a manifoled twin set. As a newbie I was taught to open the taps on tanks fully then close half a turn.

When doing shut-downs with a twin set it would be far quicker to just have valves a couple of turns open. At the moment I just have the isolator valve open half a turn to bleed air between the tanks, allowing me to isolate quickly. Can anyone see any problems with only having the tank valves partly open as it doesn't seem to affect my regulator's preformance even at relitively large depths (40-50m)?

Cheers,

Nick

·
Registered
2,839 Posts
Imported post

You've got to be certain you know which way you're turning them - otherwise you might try to solve a freeflow by fully opening your valves.

I have my two main valves wide open, but the isolation valve only open a half turn

·
Registered
50 Posts
Imported post

Nick,

Like Dominic says, the valves should be fine open all the way and they are designed to work like that and it makes it a lot eaiser to shut them down from being fully opened as you can't inadvently open them more. it's only very old valves that benefit from the half a turn back.

One thing to be careful with is having 'normal' style signle tank divers doing buddy checks with you when you're twinned up as some of them have a tendancy to 'check' your air supply by turning off and then the 'full on - half a tunr' which isn't what you want.

·
A short fat well off crap cave diver. Likes wrecks
15,343 Posts
Imported post

I am in the fulley open but cracked back school of thaught. I found that the fully open valve would some times be dificult to switch off if I didnt crack it back a bit on the boat. I can turn it the wrong way but only half a turn
 so whats the problem.