YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
bangladessional dive professional
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to finish off my IDC over the summer and am planning on getting a wing.

Does anyone here use a wing for teaching, and if so, would you recommend it, or would you suggest a jacket is a better way to go?

thanks

Guy

·
Very Senior Member
1,908 Posts
I'm going to finish off my IDC over the summer and am planning on getting a wing.

Does anyone here use a wing for teaching, and if so, would you recommend it, or would you suggest a jacket is a better way to go?

thanks

Guy
Talk to Nina at Underwater Explorers. They do all instruction in wings - they even had a trydive session in wings yesterday.

·
Atomic Blonde and Midjit Idjit
16,469 Posts
Not being an instructor I am perhaps not qualified to have an opinion on this, however, I was always told you should teach - or in my case as a DM, assist - using standard equipment.

This aside, if someone had dispelled the 'tekkie' myth attached to wings, backplates and harnesses when I started diving, and let me try one, it would have saved me much expense in a trial and error of several different BCs before settling on my much-loved BP and harness :)

Perhaps it will also discourage newbies from 'Christmas tree syndrome', as you have to think carefully about what you really need for diving, instead of attaching every new gadget and dangly that you can just because you have a d-ring to clip it on :D

Hxxx

·
Life is rushing past!
1,206 Posts
As far as I'm aware you have to teach the open water course in equipment similar to what the students are wearing eg, single tank and bc, mainly because you should be able to demonstrate kit removal ok you don't do that on the open water portion of the course only confined.