YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
3,293 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Imported post

Hi

Its taken a while but here's day One. Hope you enjoy it.

I wake up early in my luxury ?! Aquahotel room both excited and apprehensive about the day ahead. Excited because I was on the first DIR course in the UK being taught by AndrewG, the GUE training director no less and Andy Kerslake, the only active UK instructor. Apprehensive because I am a relative newbie to diving, only having 60 odd dives and qualified as a BSAC club diver April 2002. I thought that DIR was well supported in the UK, full of diving elitists from the DIS  and other lists, and I would be shown up as a newbie thrashing about in the water and frowned upon for my lack of skill. What little did I know…

I went down for breakfast and met some of the guys. Chris and Daniel, who were laughing about their disastrous dives the previous day. Ruy who had come over from Portugal and was using twins for the first time!! Howard, or Bitz, of bitz.fsnet.co.uk, a trimix diver with lots of experience.  AndrewG and Andy Kerslake were there and we had a relaxing breakfast. They weren’t the militaristic, overbearing people I imagined, quite a good laugh really and I started to relax.

Before starting we had a little introduction and there were some instructors, some trimix divers, a couple of newbies like me, and a celebrity in the form of Chris Boardman, who not only is famous for his cycling accolades but now writes for Diver magazine and was writing up the course. He had a couple of photographers with him. I finally met nickjb from scubaboard, and also Mark Papp and a number of other familiar names from weblists and discussion boards. My recent DIR dive buddy and YD member Mark Emery didn’t do the fundamentals but was on the Tech1 course being run straight after the fundamentals.