YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Don't feel blue, think pink!
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Some YDers may already know that I am very new to diving. Most of my training (I am now a Sports Diver) has been at Vobster, or shallow dives in Torbay and Plymouth, all of which I have greatly enjoyed. My post-dive enthusiasm has always been met with a wry little smile from Frosty, which had me puzzled..... until now!

We went with three members of our club to Penzance for a couple of days this week. The weather was perfect - warm, sunny and the sea was calm: at least to start with! On the first day we dived the Runnelstone, which is a magnificent rock pinnacle close to Land's End. The trip could not have started better, as we were accompanied by two very friendly dolphins!

In 12 metre vis, we drifted down huge anemone-encrusted walls. There was a shoal of horse mackerel, loads of enormous urchins, several species of crabs and cotton spinners. This may sound routine to some YDers, but with less than 20 dives under my belt, this was a whole new world to me. We also saw a beautifully preserved anchor - sorry the following photos are rather green, but the flash wasn't on!

The first dive of day two was The Bucks, which we dived out of Lamorna Cove. Again the vis was 10-12 metres and if anything, the life was even more prolific on this site, and in my view better than the Runnelstone. There were walls encrusted with plumose anemones and dead men's fingers, dogfish, and large starfish.