YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This summer I completed a Divemaster Internship at Scapa Scuba in Orkney with Ben Wade and Sara Turner who I'm sure some of you know.

By the time I'd completed my internship and racked up 80 odd dives I decided it was time to buy myself some more time on the wrecks in Scapa Flow. So I did an Advanced Nitrox Course with Kieran Hatton.

As it stands I have absolutely no kit of my own. I would like to persue twinset diving but I would also like to continue single tank diving for travelling. I have looked into a harness and backplate which I can use for a single and twin wing. I know I'll probably get my self some Apeks regs but I'm not sure if I should buy 2 entire sets or just have 1 octopus and 2 primary regs (1 long 1 short) with the appropriate number of first stages.

Does anyone have any advise and/or kit that might be what I'm looking for?

Cheers.

·
Registered
381 Posts
i would just buy two sets of DS4/ATX 40's,with one on the long hose for the twin set and then just combine the 2nd stages onto one DS4 for holiday diving.

so what if everyone else abroad has a conventional length octo.

·
Registered
653 Posts
i would just buy two sets of DS4/ATX 40's,with one on the long hose for the twin set and then just combine the 2nd stages onto one DS4 for holiday diving.

so what if everyone else abroad has a conventional length octo.
Good Idea.
Tim Digger

·
Registered
1,619 Posts
get 2 ds4 and either 2 atx/xtx 40 or a 40 and a 50 depending how much money you have.
if you send just apeks a pm he may be able to get you some good prices i paid 60 quid for a atx 40 on its own.

I wouldn't bother with a dst as its a bit bigger than the ds4 and it has a swivel that only turns a little bit with a din connecter i would happily swap my dst`s for ds4`s as i find them too big on a twinset