YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Another daft question from your local neighbourhood novice.
When I qualified I used a membrane suit.  Didn't care for it too much and after trying different suits I got a NDiver - Divemaster crushed neoprene with a NDiver 'bulky' thermal undersuit.  First time I tried it I had to use extra weight to get below the surface.  Then went off to Tenerife and got more experience.  When I got back I went to Capernwray, it was a hot day so didn't use the thermal - just t-shirt and shorts.  Still warm as toast, and because I had dumped a couple of kilos of weight in Tenerife I dived with the dry-suit with the same weight as in Tenerife.  As I say, warm as toast, no hood or gloves either, and NO problems with weight - 2 really good dives. Two days ago a friend from work and I go up to Capernwray - again.  It's a bit chilly and wet and windy, so I use the thermal undersuit, only for the second time.  On the first dive I had real problems getting down below the surface with the same weight when without the thermal suit.  Once I reached 6 metres on the descent I was fine and to be honest only put air into the drysuit once - most comfortable dive I'd had and the best bouyancy - however, on reflection I now reckon I should have aborted and put more weight on when I realised I was not getting neg. bouyancy easily enough on the descent.  It dawned on me as we came up - everyhting was fine to about 7 metres and then between 7m - 5m the phrase 'polaris' sets in.  I had to force my head to face the bottom and fin to keep at 6 metres.  We had done a very gradual ascent simply because of the nature of the dive but I knew this wasn't right.  There was no panic on my part and I did the 6m stop, but inverted and having to fin a little.  I can hear to ooohs' and the aaarghs! as I type - but I'd rather own up and learn.  My Buddy - who is more expereinced - said I'm probably near t