YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Imported post

I am new to diving and i am wanting to start buying my own equipment.
Going to dive show at Birmingham next week, any advice on where to start!

·
Registered
12,795 Posts
Imported post

Rednemo

Dominic, one of the posters here, has put together a very good site that is likely to answer most of your early questions.

It can be found here.

Many of us are going to the show, so if you want a chat up there, before spending your hard earnt folding stuff, I am sure some of us can oblige. To see who is going, look here.

HTH

Adrian

·
Registered
90 Posts
Imported post

I am also fairly new (13 dives) and have purchased some of my own equipment. Therefore what I say is just what I decided to purchase from reviews and the opinions of others. There are others here with far more experience than me.

The first thing I purchased was a mask and this was primarily because I wear glases and so wanted my own mask with different lenses fitted.
Next I bought a set of regs and console. These are among or if not the most important piece of equipment so you don't really want to keep hiring them because you dont know how well they have been treated by others. It is worth paying to get a good set of regs. Personally I got a DS4 first stage and a ATX50 with ATX40 octopus together with a low profile Suunto console. Most people say that you cant really go wrong with Apex regs.
I got a DIN fitting. Not particularly because I intend to use 300bar tanks but they are the same price, you can use 300bar if you want to later, and the most significant reason for me is that I feel that system is far more secure and safer than yoke. I got a yoke adapter aswell just incase I could not hire a din tank.