YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Just wanted to share my first experience of my local BSAC club and ask you all whether what happened is the norm with all BSAC clubs.

I am not a novice diver (PADI Rescue Diver + Nitrox + 65 logged dives) although I do not consider myself an expert or experienced by any means, but I am very keen to extend my diving to UK waters and expand my skills. With this in mind I went along to my local BSAC club and at first all was very friendly and helpful, that is until I had a discussion with the instructor present that evening. His view was that before I could go on any of the club dive's I had to go away and learn how to use my Dry suit.  He suggested I go to Stoney.

He had a complete disinterest in continuing the conversation until I could clearly demonstrate skills/qualifications.

Somehow I had it in my mind that the club would help with this kind of training? I am being too harsh?

Anyway booked a PADI dry suit course for next Friday and then I might try another club.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Imported post

[b said:
Quote[/b] (GasMuncher @ July 18 2003,13:09)]Just wanted to share my first experience of my local BSAC club and ask you all whether what happened is the norm with all BSAC clubs.

His view was that before I could go on any of the club dive's I had to go away and learn how to use my Dry suit.  He suggested I go to Stoney.

He had a complete disinterest in continuing the conversation until I could clearly demonstrate skills/qualifications.

Somehow I had it in my mind that the club would help with this kind of training? I am being too harsh?
Hi GasMuncher

Yeh difficult to believe, its instructors like that ,that get the BSAC the stupid reputation about BSAC v Padi,