YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI
I am an assistant instructor and have been asked to arrange an open water lesson using lifting bag(s). I can demonstrate the use of these no problem but just in case im asked the following question I would like to know the answer.
At 20m what size of lifting bag would I need to lift and move a 3kg object?
If someone could provide maths to explain this it would be a great help. ie how much air ar 20m etc.
Many thanks.

·
Well Balanced - Bitter and Twisted !!
1,987 Posts
Quick guess.......

3kg lift bag or possibly a dsmb....... or any size of lift bag with 3kg of lift added.

If your an assistant instructor shouldn't you know this sort of thing??

whats an open water lesson?? padi?? Bsac?? is this part of the open water/ocean diver??

Tips weight / mass of water is 1 gram per cubic centimetre, pure water not salty,

or 61p will buy this.....

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.phonegao.liftbag

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Assistant instructor (DL + IFC) is a learning grade...??? and can only teach under the direct supervision of an OWI. The OWI has asked me to present a lesson to him before being unleashed on trainees. I had an idea that a Buddy DSMB would move a 3kg 'shot' but I have a 25kg bag that i will use as this lesson is aimed at trainee DL's.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Take a look at the Instructor Resources CD that you were given on your IFC. The notes for the Search & Recovery course are on there, with some good information on how to work out lifting bag required.
A 25kg bag to lift a 3kg object is excessive and could result in an uncontrolled lift.

·
Well Balanced - Bitter and Twisted !!
1,987 Posts
There are several levels of assistant instructors across the different agency's, so just curious to which agency/ level of diver you were presenting this to.

As Aqua Maria said a 25kg lift bag is a little on the large side.

·