YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

What would you do? - uncertified diver

• No way.

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· A short fat well off crap cave diver. Likes wrecks
15,284 Posts
Imported post

As far as I know there is no law against it as long as you’re doing it for free. I dived uncertified for Nitrox, uncertified for Trimix etc. My only concern was personal life insurance for next of kin.

I am now TDI Trimix qualified but I have no formal rescue or instructor training past my own personal self taught medical knowledge and knowledge of the risks associated with diving.

I would take an unqualified ADULT diving no problem. I would have to see them use a snorkel mask and flippers but if they displayed confidence with that kit in deep water I would haply take them down to say 10m on something like the Far Mulberry or Chesel Beech after a few basic skills in the shallows or in a pool.

Lets face it that’s what I did on my first ever dive. A few skills kneeling on the bottom in 2m of water then out on to the reef in St Lucia. No computer no timer just a depth gauge and we went to 20m (60ft to be precise)?
? That was in 1989.

I would want to see:

Their eyes
Their breathing
A flooded mask clearance
Regulator swapping to my long hose and back
And a basic understanding of how the bcd worked.

If the person could demonstrate these skills and they didn’t look like they were about to freak I would take them out in minimum 5m viz on a dive that I knew like the back of my hand.

I think its only in the last year of diving that I felt confident enough to do this. One must be totally in control of their own diving before they can envisage dealing with someone else’s problems. When I first started diving with my wife and she got in a mess I would get my self in a mess trying to help her. Now I can deal with her little problems without my own materialising so I feel ready to help others. Being qualified to do so is a secondary issue.

ATB

Mark Chase

15,284 Posts