YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

Why do you dive? - I'm thinking as well!

• To see underwater life.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Wrecks.

• Photography.

• Social side.

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

With all the ongoing talk about experience and diving deeper than you're qualified to, and such things, I got to wondering why people dive.

I'll be honest and say that I dive to see the life but I'm also fascinated by the history behind wrecks.

I enjoy diving off my local beach in 5 metres max depth and spend many an hour watching hermit crabs.

As a heavy engineer by trade, I also enjoy looking at wrecks and the engineering that's on them.

I've also had some great days out on boats in fantastic weather with good company when it's been the whole day and not just the diving that's been good.

Comments anyone?

·
Registered
274 Posts
Imported post

All of the above  

Actually, not massively keen on wrecks unless they are covered in fish - I never know which part of the boat i'm looking at.  Blokes always know this.........how???

·
DUE CEO, Booking agent, Coffee maker & Dogsbody...
10,161 Posts
Imported post

Suzanne

This is a big secret and you are not to tell anyone but:-

Most blokes don't know what part of the wreck they are on eather, they just tell it well

For me its the diving, wrecks, reef, fishes etc. I do have a big interest in wreck history though.

Dive Safe

Paul

·
Registered
102 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#810541'>i put the floaty feeling...but in retrospect, i should have put the life, cus i can sit and watch dizzy little blennies doing their thing for hours!! sad really but hey...it`s MY sad thing!  

Keeping it real dude

Rob

·
To dive or not to dive - that's not even an option
2,998 Posts
Imported post

All of the above.

There is also a spirit of adventure, a scense of personal challenge and control, with just a bit of danger thrown in.

I have no single reason.

James  

·
Registered
3,121 Posts